Drowning in dust bunnies…

April 1, 2013

I have a confession to make…a dirty little secret I have unsuccessfully tried to protect all my life…I am a TERRIBLE house cleaner. I’m really good at doing defined tasks, like laundry and meal preparation and dishwasher loading and unloading. But, somehow, the gene which allows the brain to organize something so complicated as real, deep cleaning is missing in me.

Well, it is time for spring cleaning and I am in trouble. I have been scouring the internet for tips on how to methodically clean a house. If I had my druthers, I would hire someone to clean for me, but my house isn’t big enough to allow me to do that with a clear conscience…if they can do it, I should be able to do it.

My biggest bugaboos are:

  • All hardwood floors (which I adore)  that accumulate piles of dust and cat fur at the most alarming rate – We vacuum daily with the Dyson stick and/or the minivac and there are more piles by the time we finish
  • Beautiful, high ceilings throughout – Back to that dust? We have a fluffy duster on a long stick for corners, but there is no way to reach all the way up
  • Our collections…I have collected, variously, over the years, Mexican-style glass pitchers, fish, cats, tea pots and Mark Switzer figurines – they now adorn the tops of all the tall kitchen cabinets and any extra shelf in the house and require dusting and/or running through the dish washer

Does anyone have any surefire, can’t miss organizational tips for spring cleaning they would like to share with this challenged ditz? I would be MOST appreciative…

6 Responses to “Drowning in dust bunnies…”

  1. karen Says:

    I am so in tune with you on this. I have the same problem. I have a long-furred indoor cat that sheds fur at an unbelievable rate. I just can’t keep up with it. The collections….unless they really mean something to you and you can’t live without them, get rid of them! If you need them, find a glass cabinet to put them in. As for the spring cleaning….I like to do one room at a time from top to bottom. That way you at least feel some sense of accomplishment. Good luck!

  2. Hope Says:

    Put aside a couple of days to just do it, maybe decide what bothers you the most and focus on that because the more you clean the more there seems to be that needs cleaning. I envy the size of your house because there is so much clutter here. It gets moved out of sight but never really disappears. I was on a roll last fall and fell off the cleaning wagon never to climb back on.

    • StarStruk Says:

      The down side is that even in such a small place, the dust bunnies are back in full force before I finish cleaning…oh, we’ll, at least my friends seem not to care…

  3. Suzy Says:

    All I know is that I need a good soundtrack to clean by!!! Currently listening to 60’s Soul Explosion on Songza and it has me movin! Not so sure everything will be clean though~ but listening to music I havn’t heard in years! Good luck!

  4. Laura Pallas Says:

    I say, clean the usual and then hire someone to do Spring Cleaning. They can do oven, (you do frig 🙂 baseboards, polish floors, spic and span all of the nooks and crannies. you have to specifically ask for deep cleaning or spring cleaning. The trick is to do all of the usual stuff before they come.

  5. Linda Says:

    I agree with Karen – I do one room at a time and at least you can see immediate results = and spend time in that room if you need to feel like you are actually accomplishing something!


Leave a Reply

