Time to bring the plants in…

September 13, 2012

The air is a lot cooler today than it was even a week ago…the sun sparkles off the water so cleanly…I know in my gut that it is almost time to bring the plants in.

Oh, woe is me…this is something I have to deal with every autumn. I have to pick and choose among my plants the ones that get to come inside and survive another year, or the ones that I will have to abandon, because I have no room for them.

The herbs get an automatic pass inside…I need them for cooking. The geraniums get an automatic pass…I need them to help me get through the darkness of winter. But I have barrels of blooming plants which I purchased for the wedding…and they are so beautiful, I wish I could find a way to keep them. The strawberry plants, the mint and the chives stay out all winter, as they always come back.

This is about the only time of year I regret living in a tiny, two room house…not nearly enough room for living plants…decisions, decisions, decisions…

P.S. As I was writing this post, a discussion started on our family email list about flowers and which we love best…I can’t choose just one…I love the colors, textures and emotions that different flowers evoke…do you have a favorite? Which ones will you be bringing in for the winter?

3 Responses to “Time to bring the plants in…”

  1. Hope Says:

    Wow! Your flowers are so beautiful and loved. You can bring them here for the winter and I’ll take care of them for you. I’m loving fall like never before and noticing the more subtle signs that I never had time to see while working. Seriously, head south…

  2. michaelandpeggy@acsalaska.net Says:

    Here I have room for most but have to be very careful I don’t bring aphids in on the plants. I love violas, especially Johnny-Jump-Ups, and pansies. They are very hardy and in a warm corner outside I have had them bloom after a thaw. How much longer does Katy have? It is definitely fall here even if the calendar says it is still summer. The fireweed is bright red. Love Mom

    StarStruk posted: “The air is a lot cooler today than it was even a week ago…the sun sparkles off the water so cleanly…I know in my gut that it is almost time to bring the plants in. Oh, woe is me…this is something I have to deal with every autumn. I have to pick a”


Leave a Reply

