The waters around me…

July 16, 2012

I woke up early Saturday morning…after listening to the waves for a while and hoping that I could fall back to sleep, I turned on MSNBC…the rerun of Friday night’s The Rachel Maddow Show was on…somewhere in the program was a mention of marinetraffic.com, a site that shows the location of ships that inhabit our waters.  I’m lucky enough to live on the coast and am able to watch the ocean around me via this site.

Because those vessels which are part of the site have specific equipment (an AIS receiver?) which allows them to be tracked, there are always going to be lots of smaller watercraft which don’t appear…around here, the traffic is constant, but few of the boats or ships I see are trackable.

I’m hooked! Maybe you will be, too, if you are anywhere near a body of water…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

