Summertime food cravings…

July 6, 2012

I have been having some pretty intense food cravings lately…I’m thinking maybe I am channeling my 26 week pregnant daughter…when I was pregnant with her, my cravings changed month to month; apples, celery, grapefruit…I swore I was going to turn into whatever it was of which I could not get enough…

My cravings this month are random. I have been inhaling a pound or more of the fresh, plump pod peas at a time…I don’t shell them all and then eat them all; no, I shell them with my teeth right into my mouth and down my gullet. It isn’t pretty, but they sure are delicious.

And then there are cheeseburgers…every now and again I ache for a restaurant cheeseburger (cheddar, lettuce, tomato and raw onion with heaps of mayo)…right now those cravings are coming about once a week…I try to fend them off with home-ground, home-grilled patties, no bun…but sometimes, nothing else will suffice.

It is berry season here in New England…dessert these days is often a bowl of mixed berries (some or all of blueberries, raspberries, strawberries and blackberries) lightly sprinkled with powdered sugar and immersed in milk…mmm…I have also used my Natural Bliss sweet cream flavored coffee creamer in place of the sugar and milk and that was delicious, as well.

And let’s not forget lobsters steamed in ocean water and fresh sea weed, and colorful beets (usually roasted, as what can beat a roasted beet?), and cheese plates and crudites and cherries!

Some regulars on our menu are surprisingly missing from our current rotation. We make a really tasty thin crust pizza, topped with carmelized onions, prosciutto and mozzarella, raw tomatoes and, on hus’ side of the pizza, chopped olives, finished off with a sprinkle of parmesan over the top…oh, to die for…but not right now…also missing are smoothies, yogurt, corn on the cob (we still eat it, but not in the same quantities we normally do in the summer), sweet potatoes and any type of squash other than butternut.

I am a creature of cravings…I tend to follow them as much as possible (well, I hardly ever eat liver and onions, which I used to crave occasionally, mostly because hus blanches at even the mention of liver)…I find that as long as my cravings are reasonably healthy, my body knows what it wants and when and deserves to have attention paid to it.

Leave a Reply

