Menopausal mumblings…

February 17, 2012

Do you think that title scared anyone off? This is to my pausing and paused friends, although it could be construed as an eye toward the future to our young ones.

I have been long paused…10 years or so…I have seen my body go from “slightly out-of-shape but still a remote reflection of the body of my youth” to “ohmygod, that’s not me, that’s my mom…ohmygod, that IS me…what are those rolls around my bra line and I don’t have THAT many chins…my middle has become a barrel and I keep saying I’m so fat and for the first time I have 30 pounds to lose, not the 5 pounds of my youth and…” Again, if you are on the journey, you know whereof I speak.

But, damn…I just can’t go on like this. Yes, I am heavier than I have ever been…yes, my midsection now lacks a waist and has gained girth. But I still look good…I smile a lot and when you are smiling, the lines and wrinkles and discolorations aren’t as apparent. I hide most of the bulk with black and pops of color. I stand up straight, sit up straight…makes the 3/4″ in height I’ve lost not so visible. And, if I really want to take the time and effort, I can doll myself up with make-up and hair so that the rest of me is consigned to the shadows.

I eat pretty well…I get a little exercise…I exercise my brain with Words with Friends and Scrabble and Word Search and doing our taxes and Rachel Maddow, Andrea Mitchell and NPR…I have a husband I love and who loves me…I tick off most of the boxes when it comes to enhancing my chances for a healthy rest-of-my-life…maybe that quest requires the extra 30 pounds, the thick middle…maybe someday I’ll figure it all out.

In the meantime, here’s a shout out to all my woman friends who have watched their physical selves change and grow…since it is happening to all of us, there must be a reason!

6 Responses to “Menopausal mumblings…”

  1. John Says:

    it’s not just women…i’m looking–and acting–more and more like my father every day…it’s life and i’m embracing it for how natural and wonderful and easy it all is…

    be good…

    –jgf

  2. Bunny Porter Says:

    Love it!! Good luck – wish I had “only” 30 to lose… 😉

  3. emjayandthem Says:

    It is startling to look in the mirror and see your Mom! Happens to me often … I’ve re-embraced an effective and simple weights routine (free via http://www.strongwomen.com) and developed by a Tufts Professor. Takes 15 min 3x a week. That + some walking and backing off the chips bag and I’ll lose the 30 I’m carrying, too.

    You really got me when you mentioned how the “30” used to be 5 – sigh – soooo true!
    MJ

  4. karen Says:

    I’m sitting here (on my expanded butt) reading this as I munch on a bag of chips before I start making dinner. Makes me pause and think……….

  5. Peg Says:

    So true! I have more than 30 to lose and I am shaped and look like my Mom. Thank goodness she is a beautiful Woman. 😄

  6. Claudia Says:

    You were a beautiful girl and are a beautiful woman. They are different on the outside., but the light still shines brightly.


Leave a Reply

