A cooking frenzy…

November 7, 2011

Despite the fact that hus and I are seriously heavier than we have ever been, and despite the fact that we don’t get enough exercise, we have been cooking up a storm in the last few weeks.  I think I mentioned earlier that I made a killer pot roast…we followed with a delicious and creamy butternut squash and granny smith apple soup…and the amazing, incredible chocolate chip/walnut cookies (the next time, we used heath bar bits instead of chocolate chips, also to die for) which received a sprinkling of sea salt as they came out of the oven…ohmygosh…you can’t even imagine…

Yesterday was just over the top.  We went grocery shopping, so anything was possible.  Hus was craving homemade macaroni and cheese and many bean salad (I make however many different canned beans I have to decide what number bean salad I make), and I was hoping for more cookies (and peanut butter cookies went on the menu).  For the mac and cheese, I made my roux, added cheese and cayenne and nutmeg, poured over cooked macaroni, topped with my toasted buttered bread crumbs, baked for 45 minutes…’twas quite tasty, if I do say so myself.  We haven’t tried the bean salad yet, as it needs to marinate for a day or more, but that was just opening cans of black beans, dark red kidney beans, Great Northern beans, garbanzo beans and black-eyed peas, mincing some homegrown shallots and finely chopping a bell pepper and dousing the mess liberally with a tasty, zesty Italian dressing (sometimes I make a balsamic vinaigrette version).  That will probably be lunch, afternoon snack and dinner today.  Then there were the peanut butter cookies hus made, using chunky peanut butter…mmmm…

All right, my challenge today is to turn my head of hydroponic Boston lettuce into a tasty salad for dinner…I’ll revel in the creating of that recipe for the rest of the day!

Cookies and bean salad in the making

Peanut butter cookies...

One Response to “A cooking frenzy…”

  1. karen Says:

    My mouth is watering!


Leave a Reply

