34 years ago yesterday…

August 17, 2011

34 years ago yesterday, I was doing news on top 40 radio station WGUY-AM, Bangor, ME…I worked the 4am to 1pm shift, rewriting copy, voicing stories for later broadcast and doing an occasional live newscast.  34 years ago yesterday, a day before he was due in Portland, Maine for two concerts, Elvis Presley died unexpectedly.  One year ago, I blogged about that day

Lynna on air at WGUY

Lynna at the board at WGUY

5 Responses to “34 years ago yesterday…”

  1. Hope Says:

    Lynna,
    When I read the first few words I thought you were telling us Andy was 34 years old. (“a day before he was due..”) I just couldn’t understand how that could be. Just like you, I remember exactly where I was when I heard about Elvis’ death. I was settling into my first apartment and getting ready to begin my first year teaching. It’s still as clear as yesterday. Sometimes clearer:(
    Love you and your writing!
    Hope

  2. Dad Says:

    I think it would be interesting for you to coment on your experience in Belgium and the family you stayed with. I really think you have a full life story. At least I think so.

  3. Judy Pike Says:

    These are the most fantastic photos!

  4. karen Says:

    What an interesting job that must have been. That’s something I’d love to try.

  5. Sandi Says:

    Just found your blog via KathEats->KatyWidrick-> you..so excited to see another ‘with older kids’ mom blogger!! Just bookmarked you!

    Make it great day 🙂


Leave a Reply

