I think I can, I think I can…

May 13, 2011

I have been paralyzed with blog-block for the last while.  I blog in my mind on a daily basis, but haven’t been able to make the jump to actually blogging.  So, today is baby steps.

What a world!  Facebook is a marvel…I am now Facebook-friends with my mom, my dad, my sisters, my children, my cousins, my uncles…amazing.  Say what you will about social media, it is making it easier to stay close to those we love (letters have, of course, gone by the wayside).  Hurray for family!  Now to work on the last few holdouts…(ahem, Michael?)

We felt so guilty when we converted our cats from indoor/outdoor cats to indoor only in preparation for our move to Maine, from suburbia to woods.  I am way over that now.  Not only do I see daily proof that there are big, bad predators out there that would LOVE to feast on a fat, juicy, spoiled-rotten cat or two.  We do keep the sliders open in both rooms so that they do feel as if they are up-close and personal to the many birds and little animals that we have attracted for their viewing pleasure.

Cats on alert

Every day, I beat myself up for not getting some exercise.  I need to lose a few pounds, but more importantly, I am in dire need of balance and strength work.  But I feel so overwhelmed by the thought of starting some kind of program, I do nothing.  This week, one of the blogs recommended by my daughter talked about a plank challenge.  A plank is a yoga pose/fitness position that looks like the beginning of a pushup.  The challenge, as I understood it, was to merely go to plank position and get comfortable with it, embrace it.  As the comfort level rises, so do repetitions and advanced enhancements.  Hmmm…how could I not do this?  I have problem shoulders, so have not yet moved past merely moving into plank pose and holding it.  But hot damn!  Even I can do this…at least today.  I also printed out some exercises with handweights that I will be doing outside on the deck.  Let’s see if I can make it more than a day or two.  Baby steps…

And now, my gift to all of you…

A May day
Early spring flowers

2 Responses to “I think I can, I think I can…”

  1. Beth Moffitt Haverlah Says:

    Oh my, your Mom is going to have a ball once she gets going! You’re right, FB makes it much easier to keep in touch with the family.

    Lynna, your pictures are gorgeous. What a beautiful spot you live in.

    Now, as far as the balance/coordination thing – that’s something I need to work on. My son recently moved back in as he’s between jobs, places, and he’s a personal trainer, I need to have him help me! Good luck.

  2. Katy Says:

    Mama…

    You make me *so* proud!

    Baby steps, for sure. I’m doing the Planks challenge starting on Monday, so we’ll be in pain together.

    Look at BodyRock.TV, too — advanced workouts but every one can be done at your own level. Also, if you think you’d enjoy yoga, I love the Dave Farmar podcasts and Yoga Download (free workouts).

    Don’t think about it as weight loss — like you said, it’s about balance, core strength, flexibility…just feeling better.


Leave a Reply

