Unplugged…Part One…

March 24, 2011

When we drove the moving truck away from our now-sold house a couple of weeks ago, I was fully aware of a lot of the things we were leaving behind in Metrowest Boston.  However, one of the things I hadn’t considered was technology.  I am an internet, TV, radio, audiobook addict.  There, I’ve said it.  I spend an inordinate amount of time with at least an email account open and TV in the background.  At work, it was radio or Zune, along with phones, email accounts and Word documents.  Busy busy, noisy noisy.

Fast forward to my little, still fully-littered-with-unopened-boxes, mattress and box springs in our living room, out in the boonies house, where, on the day we moved in, we had no telephone, no internet, no TV…my Zune is still buried in a bag somewhere…we had power, water and little else…ahem, says my trusty little smartphone, which gamely came through for me in my otherwise technological wasteland…I used my little Droid Incredible to get our telephone line working (well, there is that hideous crackle that comes and goes, but…)…I used my phone to read emails and do a cursory scan of Facebook and Google Reader here and there.  I am ashamed to admit it, but if it wasn’t for my Words With Friends buddies (StarStrukLynna), I wouldn’t have survived.  A few days later, with the help of diligent sleuthing skills (where the heck did I last see the box marked “modem”?) and a few phone conversations with our local ISP tech support folks, I was reconnected with the internet!  Well, kind of…I can’t watch imbedded videos…it is like more watching imbedded slides, as the feed seems to stop and start at will…plus photos and webpages take forever to load…but that is a small price to pay to be otherwise back in the world of the at-least-partially replugged.

NPR / MPBN radio will be the subject of Part Two…stay tuned…

Next, satellite TV! Next, packing up giveaways and unpacking boxes…onward and upward!

4 Responses to “Unplugged…Part One…”

  1. ragtopday Says:

    Started a Words with Friends game with you!

  2. kim Says:

    Lynna, Welcome to my country life of slow internet and such. But as you have or will find out, there are other benefits to small town life. love ya sister


  3. […] via Maine Public Broadcasting Network (MPBN) has become my constant companion.  As I mentioned in Unplugged…Part One, I am accustomed to surrounding myself with multiple sources of simultaneous stimulation […]


Leave a Reply

