Under pressure…

February 23, 2011

 I have missed blogging. I blog in my mind, but with all the craziness around me, I just don’t find time to sit in front of the keyboard and write it all down.

Among the most pressing life changes I’m undergoing right now is the fact that I am leaving my job of nearly 8 years.  I am one of those who prefers to find a good job and stay in it…my best and happiest jobs have been long-term jobs.  Unfortunately, I will soon be too far away to be able to commute, so I am in the process of weaning myself away.  I have spent hours working on a procedures primer for my replacement…in the process, I’ve learned how much I really do, how much responsibility I hold, how many jobs fill the life of administrative assistant to a sole practitioner…the process has also brought home to me how much I love my job…perfect job for this ADD mind…if I tire of doing something monotonous, there is always something else that needs to be done…then there are the fires to be put out, the problems to solve, phone calls and emails from clients…the “fun” stuff!  Also, easy forgiveness for stupid mistakes and flexibility as to snow days and scheduling appointments have scored high on the “remuneration” side. 

I will miss my “boss” most of all.  We were friends long before I became her “right arm.”  Besides being a dedicated and honest and careful attorney, she is a talented pianist and singer with a background in and love of musical theater…I have been active in choirs and community theater most of my life…we even did a show together once!  We worked in next-door-neighbor law firms, so got to see each other’s styles in action early on.  She’s good at things I’m not and vice versa.  A really good match.  I will miss her very much.

4 Responses to “Under pressure…”

  1. Laura Says:

    Ahhhhh:)

  2. Judy Says:

    OMG you made me cry (not for the first time). I don’t know how I will ever thank you enough for the difference you have made in my life for the past 8 years. This may be a parting, but it is not a goodbye, for our friendship is forever. I will miss you here every day, but not miss you in my life because I am NOT letting you go.
    With eternal gratitude,
    Judy

  3. Al Pallas Says:

    You have been a hard worker all your life and I am sure your boss will second that. I know you will be missed not only for your work, but for the frienship you have had with her. I am so proud to call you my daughter and you and Peter deserve the move you are making. It is for a good cause.


Leave a Reply

