There are still good folks among us…

January 4, 2011

As I mentioned yesterday, we were mostly without internet on our recent stay in Maine.  One afternoon, while dad-in-law was just “resting his eyes” after lunch, hus and I forayed out to explore our surroundings.  One of the places we follow on Facebook and Village Soup is Rock City Books & Coffee, so we decided to drop in and enjoy a cup of coffee, free wi-fi and a room full of books.  Hus and I set up at one of the tables, sipped on mocha (me) and a latte (him) and people-watched.  Hus wandered off to look at books and I logged onto my laptop to be sure the world was still out there.  That was short-lived, as the siren song of books called me and I packed up my laptop (I remember I did, I swore that I did), tucked my winter coat under my arm and went wandering.  Somehow, when we returned to dad-in-law’s apartment, we noted that hus had left his jacket behind.  When we called them, it was so hectic, no one could tell us if anyone had turned in his jacket.  We went home that evening, sat in front of our roaring fire and turned in for a good night’s sleep.  The next morning, as we were packing up the little house, I noticed that my laptop wasn’t in its normal place.  And it wasn’t in the car…nor was it anywhere I looked.  And I was CERTAIN that I had tucked it under my arm when we left Rock City.  This was just the final straw in a series of brainless plays on my part and I felt as if a dark cloud had descended over me.  We dropped by Rock City on our way to spend our last day with dad-in-law…I was sure that someone would have turned in the jacket.  Fortuitously, a parking space was open right in front, so we parked and both went in.  We approached the cashier and asked if anyone had turned in a jacket…then I piped up with a self-deprecating “I know this is really a silly question, but did anyone also turn in a …  umm … a laptop?”  Imagine my shock when she jumped up and led the way to the office where she produced the jacket wrapped around MY LAPTOP!!!!!  Yes, I left my brand new laptop on a table in a public coffee shop full of wi-fi seekers hours before Rock City closed and it ended up being turned in to store management.  I was just blown away.  That kind of random but major goodness lifted my spirits and put a smile on my face…there are good people out there in the big bad world.

Speaking of lifting spirits, I just cannot get enough of photos I took during our stay…

Before the big snow

 
3 Responses to “There are still good folks among us…”

  1. karen Says:

    Doesn’t that kind of thing just renew your belief in the human spirit?

  2. ragtopday Says:

    I love that photo. It’s nice when good things happen to good people.

  3. Barb Says:

    It is so nice to hear this kind of experience in the midst of a crazy world…


Leave a Reply

