Deja vu…

December 7, 2010

I feel for Elizabeth Edwards.  I really do.  I am reading all these stories about her decision to end active treatment for her breast cancer and am almost immediately transported to my mum-in-law’s apartment a few weeks ago.  Kathy had also been in the hospital when the decision was made to cease all active treatment…basically going from palliative care to hospice.  With Kathy, we were just there, just part of it, no time to process, just there.  Reading about Elizabeth Edwards’ journey gives me a look back at what was happening…I remember the oxygen machine and the hospital bed in the guest room and the walker journey to the recliner the first couple of days we were there…we snuggled her up in blankets and fed her sips and tastes of things.  I can just picture the family trying to be quiet in the living room so Mom/Elizabeth can rest in the bedroom…there are strangers around and there are two young-ish kids in that family group, far different from my nearly 97yo dad-in-law, 63yo b-i-l and my 59yo hus and myself.  They are going through this in a private home, we were in an Independent and Assisted Living apartment, close to social services.  I hope for Ms. Edwards’ sake that she is working with a good hospice organization.  I don’t know what we would have done without Karl, Kathy’s hospice nurse, and the Kno-Wal-Lin Home Care and Hospice people.

Funny how easy it is to be transported back in time…

2 Responses to “Deja vu…”


  1. What a beautiful post about what it’s like when the end comes for a loved one stricken with cancer.


  2. […] Previous Deja vu… LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Leave a Reply

