Pat me down…

November 23, 2010

I try not to be political here, because I don’t do confrontation well.  But this whole controversy about airport screening has me scratching my head.  I am willing to submit to a certain amount of abdication of my personal space/rights in order to make flying in airplanes safer.  Abuse is abuse…people gawking at pictures of screened bodies or copping a little extra something in a pat down…those are abuse and are unacceptable.  However, and much more importantly (to me, at least), I don’t want my frequent-flying husband flying on planes full of unscreened (or under-screened) passengers or luggage.  I don’t want my infrequent flights to be anything less than as safe as they can be.  I’m willing to go with advances in technology and trust that the types of abuses that have taken place will be policed and stopped.

I also hope that when next I fly, I will pass right through the machine and be on my way.  Whew!  Do I hear a “Pollyanna”?

4 Responses to “Pat me down…”

  1. karen Says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. My brother suggested that, for those who object, they should be forced to watch the video of the plane hitting the tower. Maybe that will convince them.

  2. ragtopday Says:

    I don’t usually disagree with you (well, except about snow!), but after reading this earlier today I had to go away and think about how to respond.

    I get that people are afraid of terrorism. Heck, I’m afraid of terrorism. But I’m actually more afraid of giving the government the ability to take away my personal freedom. Where does it end? I don’t believe people should be subject to these types of pat downs. I truly think they are invasive and unnecessary. They create the illusion of safety, without providing any actual increase in safety.

    I’ve seen the planes hit the towers, seen the towers fall, countless times. I cry every time. I don’t want that to ever happen again. But violating individuals, and that’s what this is, is not the way to prevent it. Do I have all the answers? Absolutely not. We need to find another way.

    (I am also not political, so I am taking a big risk in posting this — please be kind!)

  3. Al Pallas Says:

    I also do not want to offend any one, but pat me down please, but don’t charge me extra for a bag to be checked through. I fought for those freedoms and have seen the results of those that did not have them. Our system is not perfect, but it allows us to express our feelings. Love you!!!!


Leave a Reply

