It is pot roast season again…

October 18, 2010

I don’t know what happened, but we went from sweaty hot summer to pleasantly cool fall almost overnight.  I spent yesterday morning harvesting the last of the green and yellow peppers, a red cabbage, onions and one tiny, little baby beet.  I shared some of the peppers with a friend, who gave me three green tomatoes in return.  So, who has a GREAT recipe for green tomatoes?

Made, but haven’t tasted yet, butternut squash soup…sweated chopped onions, carrots and garlic in the bottom of the soup pot, added peeled, chunked butternut squash and sweated some more, then covered with organic chicken broth and salt and pepper.  It is in the refrigerator (without the light cream which will be added when it is time to serve), awaiting a soup dinner sometime this week (need to make some homemade bread or cornbread or rolls to go with it).

Made Saturday and devoured last night, crock pot pot roast…browned a big chunk of boneless chuck roast, added onions, potatoes, carrots and parsnips to crockpot, topped with organic chicken broth and a can of diced tomatoes and turned it on…it was incredible…can’t wait for another round for dinner tonight.

Finally, as I was harvesting garden veggies yesterday, I noticed that the brussels sprouts had gone from tiny little buds to almost-ready-t0-eat almost overnight!  I didn’t harvest any because we bought brussels sprouts this weekend and I need to eat those first, but I’m really looking forward to eating my own garden treasures.

One Response to “It is pot roast season again…”

  1. karen Says:

    We had crock-pot pot-roast at my brother’s house while watching the Patriots on Sunday. Mmmmm….


Leave a Reply

