What is the fascination with PUMPKIN???

October 17, 2010

Sorry, didn’t mean to shout, but pumpkin???  Pumpkin is at the top of my list of veggies of which I am not a huge fan…on that list is also butternut squash ( most winter squash, actually) and…well, best to admit it now…most summer squash.  My Google Reader is packed with talented, interesting, inspiring young foodies, vegetarians/vegans and healthies who rhapsodize daily about their adventures in pumpkin…sorry, just cannot get excited.  I have to admit that I haven’t even tasted a pumpkin beer this season.  So, all those pumpkin breads, muffins, puddings, stews, soups and whatever else are lost on me.  I’m still subscribed to all these blogs and I read with pleasure, but secretly, I’m thinking “Pumpkin???”

Now, all that said, I do have a pot of butternut squash soup on the stove for Sunday grazing…I don’t dislike butternut squash soup, but one or twice, here or there, occasionally.  Plus, we had a bumper crop of butternut squash and I didn’t manage to give it ALL away.  However, I do NOT have a single can of pumpkin,organic or otherwise, in my pantry.

7 Responses to “What is the fascination with PUMPKIN???”

  1. Katy Says:

    Guess I didn’t get THIS from you! 🙂

    I love pumpkin. In my oatmeal, in cookies, in cake as a substitute for oil and butter, as pumpkin butter, in beer, in lattes and more.

    I, like many, hoard pumpkin all year long so I can use it. I also love roasted butternut squash and it’s one of my go-to meals for when Luke’s not eating with me (he doesn’t like it … booooo).

  2. Tammy Says:

    I would like your butternut squash soup recipe:-)!


  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Katy Widrick, StarStrukLynna. StarStrukLynna said: What is the fascination with PUMPKIN???: http://wp.me/panjp-vZ […]

  4. karen Says:

    I have to admit that I feel the same way. Why are there so many pumpkins in the world and what do people do with them besides decorate?


  5. […] all up! But apparently my own mother does not understand the power of the pumpkin — can you head over here and set her […]

  6. kim Says:

    I love pumpkin beer! I love pumpkin pie/pudding! Lynna, I guess you just fell far from the tree. I am wondering if you came to my house and tried our pumpkin surprise that you might even like it. But what the heck, I love you too. sister kim

  7. Joy Says:

    I do love pumpkin! But, if you don’t a way to eat and not taste it (an old ww recipe) is add a can to cake mix instead of oil water and egg… Easy peasy and lower calorie


Leave a Reply

