Family friendly…

October 12, 2010

I know, I know…I start every post following a long weekend saying that I LOVE long weekends.  But it is true!!!  I actually got a lot accomplished…harvested the last three butternut squash, inspected the burgeoning brussels sprouts, cleaned up the dried daylily stems and dead, soggy daylily leaves, weeded the “woods” (a/k/a big ol’ mulched area in front of the house which we have dotted with baby blue spruce) and flower beds…thinned out my closet, moving summer and unworn-in-a-long-time clothes into the “winter closet”, switched out my sandals and tennies for shoes and boots…watched hours of HGTV shows (ol’ favorites House Hunters and International House Hunters, and new contenders My First Place and Professional Grade, with an occasional Holmes on Holmes thrown in [Mike is such a big tree trunk of a guy with the greatest muscly arms]) and football and baseball, all while I folded clothes and vacuumed bird feathers (don’t ask…)…got new bras (YES!) and jammies…

AND…ta da!  I steamed a couple of live lobsters just for ME and consumed them over the course of the weekend.  MMMMmmmm good!

The jewel in the crown of this relaxing weekend was an early dinner in Brookline last night at Zaftigs Delicatessen with family in from afar…cousin and her beau, visiting from Seattle, ex-bro-in-law and his wife from Atlanta, cousin and her brother and his wife from the Boston area and ME!  Sorry, family, no photos…I get lost in taking memory pictures and forget to take photos…I get all warm and mushy when I am around family and shared lots of good laughs and got a lot of really good hugs to tide me over until our next reunion.

Now it is time to let the work week begin…sigh…

2 Responses to “Family friendly…”

  1. karen Says:

    Sounds like a nice relaxing weekend. Don’t you wish they could all be three-day weekends?


  2. […] to see a show in another community, my GPS leads the way.  And when I drove into Brookline for the family get-together Monday night and when I missed the turn that she told me to make, my GPS seamlessly changed course […]


Leave a Reply

