Homemade lasagna and homemade beet salad…

September 26, 2010

Sounds pretty ordinary, and even though I say it myself, it is going to be incredible!  Homemade lasagna pasta, with my homemade sauce (well, I used canned tomatoes and tomato paste, but…) to which I added sweet italian sausage and a chopped homegrown red pepper, simmered all day, then combined with the fresh, uncooked pasta and part-skim ricotta with chopped homegrown parsley and basil and parmesan…it is baking now…

Salad tonight is roasted yellow beets topped with a simmered compote of butter, chopped red onion from our garden, halved fresh figs, deglazed with a little red wine and a dash of maple syrup…it will be topped with crumbled goat cheese…

Mmmm…I smell lasagna…dinner time!!!

2 Responses to “Homemade lasagna and homemade beet salad…”

  1. AhimsaBirth Says:

    Wow……Wow

    • starstruk Says:

      And it was Wow! I didn’t even like beets until I started cooking them myself. I HIGHLY recommend the butter-sauteed red onions, figs, wine, maple syrup sauteed golden beets…they were really, really good!


Leave a Reply

