Seriously…

August 26, 2010

Most days I write about good things, fun things, delicious things…my life is full of good things and I rejoice in that.

Some days, it is hard to write about the good things when I see what is happening out there in the world around me.  So many Americans are exhibiting phobic reactions to the existence of … gasp … Muslims among us.  It sickens me that there are so many Americans out there who, first, firmly and close-mindedly believe that President Obama is a Muslim, and second, feel that it MATTERS about our President’s religious persuasion at all.

On the news the other day, I saw a general say that a lot of soldiers would prefer not to room with gay soldiers…ok, what about those who would prefer not to room with black soldiers or Southern Baptist soldiers or tall soldiers?  What is wrong with us that we have lost our ability to live and let live?

Tolerance isn’t easy…I am not always tolerant…I cringe when I see and/or listen to Sarah Palin, don’t believe much of what comes out of her mouth…I’m working on it, but…I ignore facebook posts relating to “Jesus”, “Saviour”, “G-d”…just not my thing…poor grammar and spelling make my stomach hurt…not everyone received the education I did…

It worries me that it took me so long to write this post…I had to think, doublethink and then triplethink whether or not I really wanted to say what I was saying…makes me sound elitist and uncharitable and holier-than-thou.  Oh, well…some days, that’s just the way it is.

2 Responses to “Seriously…”

  1. Mom Says:

    Right on daughter! I have the same problem with Palin

  2. ragtopday Says:

    Well said!
    It astounds me into jaw-dropping wordlessness sometimes to hear/read what some people spout as truth. I could not agree with you more.


Leave a Reply

