I like…

August 22, 2010

For some reason, this weekend has been a lot about thinking about what I like…

I like cocktails…this is a new one for me…up until a couple of years ago, I really didn’t drink except socially…and even then, I drank sparingly, as alcohol went straight to my head AND I often awoke the next day with a headache.  Since I started drinking vodka, I find that my tolerance is much higher and I don’t often suffer afterwards.  I blame it on hus, who, after doing a story down in the south, came home with a gift bottle of Firefly sweet tea vodka…so began my journey.  I still fall back on Firefly and pink lemonade as my go to evening drink, but experiments such as yesterday’s Pina Colada martini keep me amused and happy.

I like mowing the lawn on our ride-on mower.

I like weeding…it is really hard for me to pass weedy gardens without getting hands-on…and I don’t wear gloves, much to my hus’ chagrin.  There is something about the feeling of dirt in my hands and there is no tool as effective in getting down to the roots.

I like TV…I like series such as most of the Law and Orders, most of the CSIs, House, Criminal Minds…I like HGTV and Food Network for mindless time-filler (nothing better than HGTV to put me back to sleep in the middle of the night)…I like CBS’ Sunday Morning and 48 Hours (duh!)…I don’t do sitcoms and I don’t do really dumb humor.

I like multi-tasking…I watch TV and work on the computer simultaneously…used to read with the TV on, too.

I like reading blogs…Pioneer Woman, all the young and eager foodie bloggers I met through my daughter at Healthy Living Summit a couple of years ago and lots of random others.  I really love The Daily Sleaze, my son’s daily pictorial of his cat (our grandfurbaby) Aziza, my son-in-law’s Night Hops and, of course, my daughter’s Katy Widrick.

I really like my new HTC Droid Incredible…really really like.

And I like my cats…I had a particularly lonely night last night and kept finding myself tearing up, wishing that one of the kitties would intuit my need and come spend some cuddle time with me.  It didn’t happen until the middle of the night, when Sophie brought her rained-on self in for a scratch and a snuggle.  This morning, it was Phoebe whose wet furry body rolled and luxuriated in a massage before curling up against my side.  Now it is Buddy (nee Pope) who is occupying his spot at the foot of the bed (on hus’ side, of course).

Lots more things I like, but I think that’s enough for one day.

2 Responses to “I like…”

  1. Cari Says:

    ~I~ like your blog post 🙂 Focusing on what we like is a wonderful way to express gratitude for what is and derive happiness from what is truly meaningful in our lives.


  2. I like?…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…


Leave a Reply

