Time flies…

August 16, 2010

Today is the 33rd anniversary of the death of Elvis Presley…oh, my…for starters, how could I be so old that I actually remember where I was when Elvis died?  I did morning news at a top 40 AM radio station in downtown Bangor, Maine…the afternoon DJ was an “older” guy (gosh, he must have been in his 30s) who did a lot of outside gigs…he was also an Elvis lover…Mighty John Marshall was SO looking forward to the first shows in the new Elvis tour which were to be held the next day in Portland, Maine…I remember that Mighty John was on the air for hours and hours, mourning the loss of his hero.

Where were you on August 16, 1977?

4 Responses to “Time flies…”

  1. Laura Says:

    I was soooo living in another world that I didn’t even know that Elvis has died!!!

  2. karen Says:

    I was in high school, but wasn’t an Elvis fan and his death really left no impression on me.

  3. Carol Says:

    A brand new, ten day old, newlywed just settling into a new apartment in a new city. I can still remember hearing the news knowing all the memorials would be starting. I also remember the big New York Blackout happened around the same time too. What memories given all I was just starting!


  4. […] Portland, Maine for two concerts, Elvis Presley died unexpectedly.  One year ago, I blogged about that day… Lynna on air at WGUY Lynna at the board at WGUY Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", […]


Leave a Reply

