Grown-up play time…

July 30, 2010

Now, get your minds out of the gutter…I’m talking community theater, here.  I always tell people that community theater is fun-time for people who work all day.  It is supposed to be FUN!  However, getting community theater DONE is really hard work…and it is work that never ends.  You have to pick the shows, advertise the auditions and the shows, sell ads, attract members, pay the bills, hold auditions find people to do technical jobs for each show, maintain the website and Facebook page, write ads and publicity articles, build sets, rehearse, sell tickets and refreshments, build relationships with other local non-profits…I’m breathless writing this and the list is far from complete.  On top of that, you have to be working on most of the above for your NEXT season simultaneously.

So, where’s the fun, you ask?  There is the satisfaction of doing something for the community…the satisfaction of entertaining two or three weekends’ worth of audiences…the pure joy of an “on” performance or scene…seeing something that was in pieces come together as a cohesive picture, a moment in time.  And then there is the spontaneity, the fleeting nature of a theatrical performance…no two moments are the same in the theater.

There are some days I totally lose sight of why I do this…I get tired, burned out, overwhelmed, frustrated…I want to quit, hide in my room with the lights out and watch House or Law and Order or Criminal Minds marathons.  I want to run far, far away.  I want to audition for other groups where all I would have to do is act!  However, if there weren’t people willing to do all the real work, there would be no other groups for which to audition.  So, I trudge back to my laptop, write web content and membership mailings and advertising agreements, think about plays and productions and try to figure out how to get more folks to make a sacrifice (which is equally a blessing) and volunteer for our community theater group…how to get local businesses who are in the same financial spot we’re in to buy ads or contribute raffle items or come see our plays.

All right, time to get back to work…our website still lists our last show as being current and doesn’t mention our upcoming season…it never ends…

4 Responses to “Grown-up play time…”

  1. Hope Says:

    This is so inspiring! Your work is so wonderful…I only wish I was closer to enjoy the fruits of your labor live and in person!

  2. kim Says:

    I love hearing about what is going on in your life. Thanks for posting 🙂

  3. Marcia Says:

    We’ve gone to a few shows at a Community Theater and I always think of you!


  4. Your article is very interesting and motivational also. Thanks for this post.


Leave a Reply

