To my vegan and vegetarian blogger friends…

May 7, 2010

My friend just had a heart attack…she is younger than I am, eats better, exercises and does yoga, and she had a heart attack.  It just happens that she was born into a family that has heart attacks at an early age…bummer…in some ways, this was just a wake-up call…angioplasty and stents may change the path she was on.

I’m looking for recipes to share with her that are as low in fat and sodium as possible while still tasting really good.  She can do salads and chicken and fish on her own (although if anyone has something to share, we wouldn’t complain).  I’ve shared roasted Brussels sprouts and broccoli with her…what are other MUST HAVE dishes for her to try?  Mama PeaKatyCaitlin?  Anyone?

3 Responses to “To my vegan and vegetarian blogger friends…”

  1. conradvisionquest Says:

    sorry about your friend. that can be a wake up call for everyone. i’m not sure if any of my recipes would be considered low sodium, maybe the black bean burgers and the creamy fettucini? hope your friend gets well soon…
    ~wendy
    http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/

  2. Mama Pea Says:

    I am SO sorry. That is so frightening. I’d invite your friend to play around on my recipe page: http://peasandthankyou.com/peas-and-carrots/

    Most of my recipes are low fat/sodium. I’d suggest the Black Bean Burgers, Spicy African Peanut Soup, and Falafel.

    If there’s anything else I can do, please let me know. I’ll say a little prayer for you both.


Leave a Reply

