Final day of the Masters..

April 11, 2010

In our house, the Masters is like holy days…when my husband is out of town, I have to remember to roll the DVR so he can see it when he gets back…he does everything in his power to keep from knowing what happens until he gets to watch it.  It hasn’t stopped us from getting a few things done this weekend, although everything is timed around being home to watch.

That said, the best part is that we plan our meals carefully.  This weekend, we made dipping sauce for tortilla chips and chicken enchiladas, each made with the red mole sauce hus brought home from SoCal…very rich and yummy…we have leftovers to eat this week.  We made an incredibly delicious homemade pizza (both of us had carmelized onions, sundried tomatoes, fresh basil, marinated mozzarella, and parmesan, while he also had olives, red peppers and thinly sliced sausage)…we gobbled down the whole thing with two shared Left Hand Brewing Company Milk Stouts (yum, they were delicious, too)…dessert was Lindt chocolate with sea salt…we never got around to the deviled eggs, prosciutto, cheese plate we had planned for snacking…it may be dinner tomorrow night.

I felt the power this week!  My drink of choice at home these days is Firefly Sweet Tea vodka and lemonade…the Firefly brand is sometimes hard to find and the big bottles are even harder to find…I tweeted with @FireflyVodka and they advised me to ask my liquor store to order it for me.  I did, they did and I now have a source for the fixings for my sweet elixir.  I know it sounds like nothing, but I’m not really used to asking for things I want…and then to get it was amazing.

The rainy to sunny to rainy to sunny weather recently means that the lawn is SUDDENLY in need of a good mowing.  We had planned to accomplish that today, but we did other things instead and then the Masters called…I did transplant some little viola plants that self-seeded themselves into the lawn into the planters on our front steps…but the dirt I dug from was really, really cold, so I decided against any more planting for a while.  I’ve been plugging away at weeding the beds, trying to get as much as possible done before the plants really get their leaves…there is just never enough time in the day to get everything done.  I will try to be happy with all I DID get done.  Mostly, I’ll be happy with the time I spent with my husband, even if it means I watched a lot of golf this weekend.

2 Responses to “Final day of the Masters..”

  1. Hope Says:

    We watched a lot of golf this weekend too. I was very happy with the outcome of the Masters:)

  2. Gillian Says:

    Every time you talk about food, even if it’s something I don’t particularly enjoy, you make it sound good. It’s like when I watch Food Network and everything LOOKS delicious…only with words. 😉


Leave a Reply

