Happy, happy birthday, baby…

March 28, 2010

Today is my son’s birthday…27 years ago a few hours ago, Beloved Boy Child pushed and shoved his way into being…all 9 pounds 5 ounces of him.  I was such a darn hippy back then, I automatically told the doc that I wanted a drugless childbirth (same as the first…I did it once, of course I could do it again)…with Boy Child, as was with Girl Child, I was 18 days late and my own obstetrician had given up and gone on vacation…each of my children was delivered by a stranger, the on-call at the hospital…so no continuity, no idea of really what was happening.  With Boy Child, there was some fetal distress involved, so they screwed the little monitor into the top of his little head and we watched every blip…hours and hours passed, and finally, he made his appearance.  He and I were both red and fatigued, but very happy.  The hospital was full, so they had no place to put me for a while, so I rested in post-op with a bunch of drugged out, recuperating from surgery women…thank goodness I was out of the hospital within 24 hours… 

So, happy birthday, young man…you were loved every second of your younger life and you will be loved for every second more… 

Baby boy...

 

Senior picture

One Response to “Happy, happy birthday, baby…”

  1. karen Says:

    He’s so handsome! Where do you live? We can fix him up with my daughter!


Leave a Reply

