Happy, happy birthday baby…

March 17, 2010

A big shoutout and birthday hug to my firstborn child, Silly Tater Tot…she was due on Leap Day, February 29, 1980, but in her inimitably “I know what I want and I know how to get it” style, she dawdled an additional 18 days in utero just so she could always have a built-in birthday story line if all else fails.  She has probably received every pair of St. Patty’s socks, pins, jewelry, birthday card and other St. Patty’s Day trappings ever made and sports them joyously.  I can’t wait to see pictures of what she wears today. 

Happy birthday, baby, baby… 

Short takes from 30 years ago…50 pounds total gained; 36 hours of slow labor; 7lb 11oz birthweight; no drugs…no time, didn’t actually get to the hospital the second time (we were sent home 24 hours earlier) until an hour before delivery; the look on the face of the grandfatherly security guard who attempted to wheelchair me to Labor and Delivery when I was so deep in labor I couldn’t sit down; the look on hus’ face when he came back from getting a cup of coffee to find me practically delivering; the absolute panic that gripped me when hus delivered baby and me home and then had to get back to work, leaving us ALONE and afraid that I wouldn’t know what to do with this precious little bundle of baby girl; breastfeeding, which was so easy for me and which made our new life with baby much more relaxed…baby cries, mama puts her to breast…ergo, baby rarely cries.  Also made it easy to continue our crazy young lives…food supply always available and warm and tasty.

Happy birthday

 

Happy birthday, 1987...

 

Here's to you!

3 Responses to “Happy, happy birthday baby…”


  1. […] So, I’ll just say…it’s been an amazing three decades. Thanks to my mom for her great post on her memories of this day in 1980, thanks to my co-workers for coming to my party, to my husband for lugging around a Crock Pot […]

  2. Laura Says:

    I came to see you when you were just days old, rocked you in a rocking chair.
    Sweet baby. I also recognize most of the baby clothes in any of your pictures because my kids wore them after you……bathing suits, winter coats, cute overalls and more. Thanks to you for being born and growing up!


  3. […] So, I’ll just say…it’s been an amazing three decades. Thanks to my mom for her great post on her memories of this day in 1980, thanks to my co-workers for coming to my party, to my husband for lugging around a Crock Pot […]


Leave a Reply

