Valentine’s Day for old fogies…

February 14, 2010

Well, before Valentine’s Day, we’ll start with yesterday (Saturday).  I will preface this with the fact that hus and I have been married for over 34 years now…I am not the most romantic or creative or spontaneous people you have ever met.  Anything in that genre that happens for us is instigated by hus or my friends.  That’s just how it is.  So, when I asked hus last week what he wanted for his birthday (yesterday), he said he wanted to go out and listen to some music.  There is a family friendly wings and ribs and bar we like, so I suggested the Chicken Bone Saloon, where we ate and drank and listened to a local band (I think the name was Southern Revolution, they did Southern rock covers).  It was fun and we left reasonably early and got a good night’s sleep.

Now, to start the day yesterday, after watching Antiques Roadshow on BBC America, we got dressed and went on an adventure.  I discovered that there is a Winter Farmers Market not far from us and the list of vendors was intriguing.  We went and it was wonderful!  There were lots of just harvested vegetables…lettuce, potatoes, onions, turnips, rutabagas, carrots…we brought home a celeriac root, which we are going to roast with the beets we bought, to be enjoyed with the veal ribs we bought; the fresh mozzarella we bought is going on the pizza we are making this long weekend; we have freshly homemade tabhouli and hummus and pitas from Samira’s for this coming week; a few fresh scallops will be cooked with a glaze of balsamic vinegar and a little maple syrup.  A salt mix and sugar mix somehow fell into our basket, as did a couple of jars of pepper jelly (one red, one green).  All local…felt really good to do it, too.

Which brings us to Valentine’s Day for old fogies.  What we gave each other for Valentine’s Day is a day in pjs, cooking and eating and watching the Olympics…no make-up, no shaving, nowhere to go, nothing to do.  He held book for me as I worked on my lines for The Dixie Swim Club, I made the pizza dough.  A really nice, happy day.  Happy V-Day, hus o’ mine.  Love you.

P.S.  You will notice there are no photos.  A lot of the bloggers I follow photograph everything they see and eat.  I would like to share more photos, but it is really hard for me to remember to take photos when I am having fun.  The camera puts something between me and what is happening and I don’t really like that.  So, once again, no photos of some very photogenic adventures.

4 Responses to “Valentine’s Day for old fogies…”

  1. Katy Says:

    We’re having a similar holiday! Ours involves home brew, buttermilk pancakes, PJs, Syracuse basketball and Olympics.

    I’m spending the day sorting through old pictures, picking some to scan (inspired by you!)

  2. patti Says:

    mmmm, all that food sounds really, really good. i had grapes (from chile-gasp) and bread so far today. not such a good food day, though the grapes were just what I wanted. oh, and i had a cookie when i first woke up. can you tell nobody is here but me!

  3. karen Says:

    Sounds like the perfect Valentine’s Day. Nothing like lazing around with your hubby!

  4. Dad Says:

    Your day sounded so great. Wife and I went out and had a Super Mexican dinner with one of our nieces and her husband. Had a great day with the love of my life. She has kept me younger than what my age is. And Katy, sorry about the Cuse result, and forget about UCLA, they ain’t good. As always, Love you.


Leave a Reply

