I’m blogging in the rain…

January 26, 2010

It is mid-January and the inches of moisture that fell from the sky this week were not beautiful, white snow…they were big, heavy RAINDROPS!!!  In January!!!!  The good from that is that the ugly, stained snowbanks that lingered are now flowing down my street…the bad is that really icy patches become even more slippery when slicked over with a stream of water.  May I just say that I am looking forward to this coming weekend, when “they” say we should have snow!

I’m going back and forth about my new glasses.  My old glasses were rimless, which I LOVED!  But my optometrist’s office no longer carries them.  So, I had to go through that awful “can’t see what the frames look like because I can’t see without my glasses” session.  My helper tried on the frames I chose, but that really wasn’t helpful.  I ended up choosing frames I am not crazy about…don’t know if they look big and heavy because they aren’t rimless or if they really are big and heavy.  I’m sure I have a satisfaction guaranteed period and all I have to do is go back and pick out new frames.  But what a pain…if I do that, I’m bringing my husband along to help me pick new frames AND I’m going to wear my contacts so I can see!  The other thing I’m doing is buying a pair of glasses from one of those online cheap frames places…they DO carry rimless and that way, I’ll have options (always good for an actor) AND a back-up.  So, why don’t I wear my contacts more regularly?  Because I have yet to find contacts that work perfectly for my silly eyes.  I have tried one near/one far, far with reading glasses, bifocal and now toric bifocal…my current trial pair are perfect in the right eye, but the left eye feels as if the prescription part doesn’t match up properly.  I am determined to find a pair with which I can read and work on the computer AND see life clearly.

So, what do you think?

Do these make me look fat?<G>

3 Responses to “I’m blogging in the rain…”

  1. Martha Hennessey Says:

    OH BOY, do I know the feeling!! I think I have spent more money and hours trying to get contacts that work for me. I have been told that the main problem is that I have one very, very stubbornly dominant eye – Therefore, whatever happens to be in my right (dominant) eye is the one that works. Unfortunately it is always compromised by what is going on in my left eye (or vice versa…not sure?!) ARGH!! I admire your persistence (and wonder about my own…doing the same thing over and over for years and expecting a different result may just be another sign of my insanity!!) Let me know if you find a solution, and I will do the same. (I have another appointment this week!) In the meantime, I like your glasses. They’re fine. Oh, and I lost my rimless glasses, which were by far my favorites!

    Hang in there!!

  2. karen Says:

    I just gave in and got progressive glasses instead of continuing to try to wear contacts and also use reading glasses at work. When I asked the eye doctor about progressive contacts, she literally said, “they suck”. The glasses are great for work and I wear my contacts when I go out at night.

  3. Dad Says:

    Your glasses look great. As far as the contacts, always feel free to either call our house or e-mail us. That is what Judy does for a living. She works for an opthomologist(sp). She has worked for eye doctors for the last 20 or so years. But the glasss do look great. Of course, that is your fathers opinion.


Leave a Reply

