2010 blows in like a lion…

January 3, 2010

Whew!  The first few days of the new year have blown in with a vengeance…howling winds and lots of snow…light, fine snow because it is so cold outside…we’re only forecast to have 6-8″ total, but they’re still talking about a total of 18-24″ up in my in-laws’ neck of the coast of Maine.  Mum-in-law should be released from captivity the hospital tomorrow.  As soon as all the arrangements are in place at their assisted living apartment, they will be magically transported home (with hus providing the magic carpet and the driving skills) to begin the next chapter of their good, long lives.

I celebrated a first on New Year’s Day.  Up until then, I had never cut my own fingernails.  The back story is that when I was 4 years old, my parents told me that if I quit sucking my thumb, they would give me a dog.  I stopped sucking my thumb, got a beautiful collie (who one day presented us with 10, count ’em, TEN puppies) and started biting my fingernails.  I bit until about 10 years ago, and when I finally managed to quit, my nails grew in so strong and hard that I couldn’t cut them myself.  Besides that, I had never had to “do” fingernails, so I had no idea how to do it.  Nail salons have been my friends.  However, life has been very crazy and I haven’t been able to get out to get them done.  So, bright and early on Friday morning, I sat on my bed and wielded nail clippers with abandon.  The results were far from professional, but I got them as short as I like and they are only slightly crooked!  Yay me!

I have become seriously addicted to clementines.  It happens every winter.  Yummy sweet little orange balls of seedless juicy goodness are consumed by me as long as they are in my presence…I can easily polish off three or four at a time.  I have to eat as many as I can now because they will very soon go out of season.

If I was superstitious, which I’m really not, I would think that certain theatrical endeavors are cursed from the start.  My group’s winter show was to be Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf.  However, after difficulties hit George after George after George, causing them to drop out of the production, we finally had to come to terms with finding something else we could get done in the time left before opening night, some seven weeks away.  We’ll see what we can pull off.  Someday, we are going to have all three shows of our season come to be with no sturm und drang and fireworks and pain…that can happen, right?  Later this morning, I’m off to meet with a fellow board member to try to find a director and cast a couple of additional actresses in the show we hope to do.  Fingers crossed.

P.S.  Realized yesterday that I haven’t been out of the house since Wednesday afternoon…I predict some frolicking in the snow this morning!!

2 Responses to “2010 blows in like a lion…”

  1. Heidi Lou Says:

    I haven’t been out of the house since Wednesday afternoon either (except to take Molly out for a quick tinkle on the front lawn). I just can’t bring myself to go out in the cold. We don’t have snow here, but the wind just won’t quit! Ugh!

  2. Ragtop Day Says:

    I was so surprised to read you’d never cut your own fingernails! Though come to think of it, I never have to cut Belle’s nails because she always keeps them chewed short. Maybe she’ll celebrate some New Year’s eve too!


Leave a Reply

