To IPhone or to Storm, that is the question…

December 5, 2009

All right, I am in the unique position of being month to month on my current Verizon plan and I am also on my own on the plan for the first time (family plan until last child went out on his own).  I can stay with my current plan and my current Blackberry Storm.  I can upgrade to a Storm 2 for not too much money.  Or, I can be totally radical and dump Verizon and go get an IPhone.  I am just totally torn.

My sane, rational, adult mind says I should just stay with what I have.  I don’t use all the capabilities the Storm has, for heaven’s sake.  It gives me internet, I get my gmail on it, it takes photos and is a decent phone.  If I upgraded to the Storm 2, I would have wireless capability, too.

My irrational, avaricious, greedy, shallow and irresponsible self has wanted an IPhone since they came out…it is just plain ol’ cool.  It has tons of apps that are written for it (although I would probably not get around to figuring out half its capabilities, either).  Sexy little beast, it is…and did I mention that both my kids have IPhones now?

This is the wrong time of my life to be spending money recklessly…better to save now so we can be comfortable later.  So far, I’m managing to stay mostly on the rational side…convince me, one way or the other…I’ll keep you posted.

2 Responses to “To IPhone or to Storm, that is the question…”

  1. Patti Says:

    I think the real question is when to get an I-phone,,,seems like within a year or so you are going to have the choice of more carriers (or so the rumor has it) so if you waited you could not only get an Iphone you could choose the plan you want, also, seems like you have already decided that you want one.

  2. ragtopday Says:

    Ohmygosh – I could have written most of this myself! A friend is trying to convince me to get the Verizon Eris Droid, which is very similar in function to the iPhone, but it’s not an iPhone. I want one soooooooo bad. I have phone capability for free through work, so any phone at all would be an extra expense for me, and I really do prefer the Verizon network. From what I’ve read, when/if the iPhone is available on Verizon it will be a different model. Not sure if that is good, bad or indifferent yet. Decisions, decisions….


Leave a Reply

