Harvest update…

September 19, 2009

I had pretty much given up on getting anything more from our garden except the purple cabbages and the onions.  However, I went out today and the big old ugly plants I thought were failed cabbages turn out to be brussels sprouts!  I have hundreds of little brussels sprouts growing in the crotch of the leaf branches…I broke one off tonight and it was REALLY spicy and tasty…can’t wait to harvest and eat them!  I also discovered that we are going to get a good crop of red and white potatoes…I was weeding the potato patch and found a lot of nice ones right at the top.  We’ll wait for a while to harvest those.

I made my first ever homemade horseradish today!  One of my friends called yesterday to ask if I wanted some just harvested horseradish root…we love horseradish, so I said yes.  I scrubbed the dirt off, peeled the root and whirred it in the food processor with vinegar and salt.  Voila!  Horseradish!  I mixed it with mayo and sour cream and mustard and am serving it with roast beef and yorkshire pudding tonight.  Yum!!!  The best news is that my friend is digging up one of her horseradish plants so I can have one for myself!  I am PSYCHED!

3 Responses to “Harvest update…”

  1. ragtopday Says:

    Wow! I love horseradish too, but I never thought about growing it myself!

  2. Patti Says:

    careful with planting horseradish…I would read about it and be REALLY aware of where you put it. We had it growing in our garden in Maine and well, let’s just say it was a problem. big problem. soon we had way, way, way too many of them and they were hard to get out. Miss that horseradish though.


  3. I dont know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    …..Frank Scurley


Leave a Reply

