Casting ain’t for sissies…

September 5, 2009

I held auditions this week for WSP‘s fall production of Prelude to a Kiss, by Craig Lucas.  We had a lot of talented women come out and I’m going to be able to cast deep.  As always, we didn’t have enough men show up to even cast the show, so I am still looking for a couple of actors…good parts, so I’m hopeful the right person will snap up the chance for each.  The hard part is that I have to say no to some.  I hate doing it, but I like to think I do it well.  Community theater is all about the community and getting cast isn’t the be-all, end-all.  There’s almost always something that needs doing and there are never enough people to do them.  Ahhh…the fun just begins.

Another lazy Saturday morning, spent in bed watching HBO’s Hard Knocks…really love this style of show.  Watching the third…

Love love love three day weekends.

2 Responses to “Casting ain’t for sissies…”

  1. Marcia Says:

    I will be thinking of you this week—the local Community workshop theatre is doing The Producers and we have tickets to the dress rehearsal/cocktail party/meet the cast party Wednesday (its also a school fundraiser). There’s an article about how 1 of the males is playing 6 roles, but it doesn’t mention if that’s because there were so few men to pick from!
    http://www.thestate.com/living/story/930131.html

  2. Tnelson Says:

    Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.


Leave a Reply

