Anxiety clutches…

August 31, 2009

I’m starting to freak out a bit about auditions and sets and costumes and lights and sound.  Since I am trained as an actor and have come to directing only through watching others, I’m always a little nervous at the start.  Will I be able to get my concept across, will I be able to cast talented and adventurous actors with great attitudes, will I be able to verbalize my wants and needs?  The questions abound.  Once Prelude to a Kiss is cast, we start readthroughs….I LOVE readthroughs, my favorite rehearsals of the project.  It is everyone’s first opportunity (or opportunities in my case…I do at least a couple of readthroughs) to hear the playwright’s words out loud.  I always tape the readthroughs and use those tapes as my initial line learning tool…but that is when I’m acting, which I won’t be…I’m the DIRECTOR!<G>

2 Responses to “Anxiety clutches…”

  1. Patti Says:

    Maybe it is just a freak out kind of day. I woke up at 4 something or maybe it was 5 something but it was DARK…I was worried about life with Aidan in high school–starting tomorrow. Scary thought. Anyway, maybe being worried is just what is in the air.


  2. just trust your instincts, grasshopper…lol…


Leave a Reply

