Healthy Living weekend, Closing Night…

August 16, 2009

I am looking back at yesterday’s activities with awe…six young ladies conspired via email to put together a gathering of like-minded bloggers who write about their healthy, active lives, among other things (they aren’t always perfect angels, they eat real food, too).  Caitlin, Heather, Jenna, Kath, Meghann and Tina pulled together nearly 120 participants from around the country, arranged lodging for out-of-towners and healthy food for all of us (a shout out to the Radisson), along with all kinds of wonderful surprises that took a total of three days to unfold.

This is the only photo I have that even resembles a shot of the tasty food we ate all day, but suffice it to say that the Stonyfield Organic Yogurt/Mix My Granola/fresh fruit breakfast bar was the highlight of the day (the Pom snack in the afternoon wasn’t bad, either!<G>

Summit breakfast

Janel Ovrut, MS RD LDN, was a personable and down-to-earth expert on nutrition do’s and don’ts…besides that, she’s a Syracuse University grad…GO ORANGE!  

We listened to an amazing presentation by Regina Beidler, who, along with her husband and daughter, Erin, run an organic dairy farm in Vermont which provides milk for Stonyfield organic yogurts!  Her description of their life on the farm was so inspiring and makes me want to encourage all my young friends to take up organic farming!  Zesty Cook came all the way from Prince Edward Island to share his blogging expertise with the rapt crowd (you need to check out his recipes, too!).  Don’t we look inspired?<G>

Summit Group Photo

I’m not a fitness buff…I wish I was more active and I am working on it.  Today, after she had run and run/walked (ralked) 8 or so miles while I weeded the gardens, my daughter and I went for a nice long walk…it was really nice.  But that doesn’t happen every day (especially since said daughter is as I type flying home to Orlando).  I fall prey to the occasional Big Mac or carton of ice cream or bag of cookies…I don’t always eat breakfast…and I am probably 30 years older than most of those attending the Summit. But the overall message that came through loud and clear at this Healthy Living Summit was that it is all step-by-step, day-by-day…effort matters.  And every little bit that we can do to eat healthier and live a more active life is a step in the right direction!  Best of all, I came away with so many new blogs to follow and so many more folks to learn from and become inspired by.  Y’all make really good role models and I hope you keep spreading the word and being real.

4 Responses to “Healthy Living weekend, Closing Night…”

  1. Meghann Says:

    It was so great to meet you this weekend! I can see where Katy gets all of her wonderful energy, beauty and spunk!

  2. Whit Says:

    It was great meeting you this weekend Lynna! You have such a lovely daughter as well.

  3. Emily Says:

    It was really nice to meet you this weekend as well! I hope that we can meet again at the next summit. 🙂


  4. Hi there! Saw your comment on HTP–we have the same birthday!
    It’s fun to read everyone’s summit recaps. It looks like it was a blast!


Leave a Reply

