More bits…

June 19, 2009

Rain, gloom, humidity…days at a time…the weeds are starting to outpace the beets and onions…but it is too wet to even weed much.  The good side is that everything is bright green and lush.

The baby herons are growing up.  A while back, I wrote about the three huge heron nests that fill each spring with parents and then eggs and then chicks.  Those chicks are now HUGE birds, still in the nest, but definitely not for long.  Two days in a row I was greeted by the sight of two big chicks standing tall, beak to beak, playing together like my kittens do.  It was a wonder to behold.

Our kittens (now young lady cats) are LOVING spring.  My husband told them all winter that they would love spring.  Now he reminds them that he told them so!<G>  Anytime I am out, they are out with me.  I weed, they grovel and roll and look entirely fetching.  It is hard to stay focused on weeding.<G>

OK, it is Friday…love Fridays because they become Friday night.  I have a date with my husband tonight to go to dinner with another couple and then on to a staged reading of David Mamet’s Glengarry Glen Ross.  A show that is presented by my group but for which I have done almost nothing…a treat.  Knock ’em dead, fellas!

One Response to “More bits…”

  1. ragtopday Says:

    I’d love to see photos of the growing herons, if you ever have time during your commute, or they stay visible long enough! I think they are amazing looking birds.

    Have fun on your date – sounds fabulous!


Leave a Reply

