Soggy day…

May 27, 2009

Today is one of those rainy New England days that is so welcome.  We have planted the veggie garden and it is drinking in the rain…I can almost see the plants growing as I watch.  We moved all my huge pots of herbs outside and they are enjoying the moderate temperatures and the rain bath that is cleaning all the indoor dust and cat fur away.  Three of my four huge pots of geraniums are out on the porch, over my objections…the original geranium (the last remaining indoor geranium) is the “tree” that my now-deceased boss was cultivating as my Christmas present in 1998…his wife gave it to me Christmas 1998, after he died…over the years I have broken off pieces and propagated new plants.  And I was so happy to get a lot of my outdoor lily and iris and and shrub beds cleared out over the long weekend, so now their roots can soak up the rain and there will be more and stronger plants for me to dig up, break apart and replant after they bloom.  It’s going to be a good day for my gardens.

Not such a good day on the mother-in-law health front.  I found out yesterday that my beloved m-i-l is in the hospital up in Maine after passing out at home Monday night.  They have run all the tests and don’t know what caused it…but since that means she didn’t have a stroke and her heart is fine, that is not all bad.  We now have the difficult task of gently convincing my very stubborn, independent, wonderful, 95yo f-i-l to move from their little summer house on the Atlantic ocean back to assisted living for the near term.  This will break his heart, which means it will break ours.  But he is currently driving the 16 miles each way to visit her in the hospital and that just can’t continue.  Sigh…

Hi ho, hi ho, it’s off to work I go…I’m going to drive the back roads today to see what the rain is doing to the pastures and ponds I pass.

One Response to “Soggy day…”

  1. ragtopday Says:

    I guess we do need the rain, although I must say my lawn needed to be mowed BEFORE it started, and now it will be knee-high before I am able to do it. Oh well, isn’t it better for the environment to mow less often?

    I’m so sorry to hear about your in-laws. Losing your independence has got to be the toughest thing about getting older. I’m hoping your MIL gets well soon, so your FIL can go home with her.

    Hope you saw lots of interesting sights on your commute today!


Leave a Reply

