Couch potato…

January 18, 2009

Just finished reading my daughter’s blog, all about bike riding and running and healthy food and happy dogs.  I feel virtuous too, though, as my husband and I worked out with Wii Fit today (one of the categories, if you do really poorly on a unit, is couch potato).  Just a start, but it felt good.  I also started a yoga class (one night a week), so maybe I can get my body into a semblance of flexibility so I can increase my exercise a little.  That said, I know myself and will take any opportunity to shirk.  So, let’s see if saying it out loud makes me more accountable.

I made the most decadently rich and delicious and BUTTERY parmesan chicken recipe…called for garlic sauteed in butter, then dipping the boneless chicken pieces into the butter, then into a mix of bread crumbs and grated parmesan, with the chicken pieces then placed in a baking pan.  Cover the chicken with the leftover cheese crumbs and leftover garlicy butter, bake for 55 minutes (or less if you use smaller pieces) ’til golden brown and then put the chicken on a rack or plate.  I then tossed cooked angel hair in the leftover buttery crumby juices the chicken was cooked in and served them with the chicken.  Ohmygosh, it was divine.  Take that, Silly Tater Tot!

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow…

3 Responses to “Couch potato…”

  1. Katy Says:

    The chicken sounds great … although, if I had prepared it for you with smart balance instead of the butter and either fiber one crumbs or whole wheat bread crumbs instead of the story-bought kind, I bet you wouldn’t have even noticed! And I would have tossed it with whole wheat pasta … actually, that sounds pretty awesome! Don’t be surprised if you see them on Silly Tater Tot soon. 🙂

    Two places for free yoga downloads: yogatoday.com and yogadownload.com, although with the second one it’s audio only and you have to search for the free ones. I cannot get through a whole class! I can’t be quiet with my mind.

    Snow snow snow? SUN SUN SUN!!

  2. ragtopday Says:

    I finally got a chance to do a real workout using the Wii Fit today and had a lot of fun! I do need to wear a sports bra for the running though! And I found those balance exercises, especially teh ski jump, to be much harder than I expected. But it was so much fun, I can’t wait to do it again tomorrow. And since the weather in these parts is not exactly outside-exercise friendly, I’m looking forward to getting into a routine with it. And also to lose 10 pounds by May 1!

    The chicken sounds good – I may have to play with that – I think my girls would like it (after all, you did say pasta, right?).

  3. ragtopday Says:

    I meant the ski SLALOM, not the ski jump (which I haven’t even tried yet).

    And I agree with Katy – SUN SUN SUN!


Leave a Reply

