Why blog?

May 5, 2008

A friend of mine was really surprised when I told her that I blog. To her, blogging is a very self-centered thing; she can’t understand why anyone would think that what he or she said would be interesting or meaningful to anyone else. I actually agree with that, in a way. BUT, and there is always a but, I enjoy reading other people’s blogs. It makes me think and I like that. And now that I do blog, I enjoy actually writing down some of the random thoughts that flit through my pea-brain like a slide show every minute of every day.

3 Responses to “Why blog?”

  1. heidilou Says:

    I was thinking about this yesterday. Something in somebody else’s blog made me look for a picture that I know I have somewhere in my blog. I ended up browsing through all my entries since the beginning, August, 2006. It’s sort of cool to have a record of what I was doing, what I was thinking, and how I was feeling at various points in time. It made me realize that I’m in SUCH a better place, figuratively and literally, than I was back then.

  2. ragtopday Says:

    I totally agree! Except, no one I know in real life knows that I blog! I don’t want to feel like I have to censor myself for a real person. There are some things I choose to keep private, which is why I don’t use my real name. I started blogging because I started reading blogs, and there are some marvelous writers out there – some that make me think, some that make me laugh, some that feel like a piece of me. I wanted to be part of that. And I like the journaling aspect of it – I suspect I’ll get quite a kick out of reading back as the years pass. Sure, I could do that in a notebook, but there’s no “connection” that way.

  3. chiyapike Says:

    Haha I wondered this too. My blog was originally going to be where I improved my writing skills.

    I agree, it’s nice to write down thoughts and for people to read them. And I’d never actually be a writer but it’s neat to have a blog.


Leave a Reply

